NSW Women Lawyers Achievement Awards 2019


The Women Lawyers’ Association of NSW Inc. (WLANSW) is very proud to host the NSW Women Lawyers Achievement Awards for 2019.

The NSW Women Lawyers Achievement Awards recognise and celebrate the achievements of outstanding women lawyers, mentors and firms that have achieved excellence in their area of practice and helped create opportunities for women in the law.

We are grateful for the support of the Law Society of NSW, the NSW Bar Association, the Department of Justice, the Association of Corporate Counsel, Australia and the Workplace Gender Equality Agency.

This year, nominations will be sought for the following categories:

Outstanding Law Firm of the Year

The successful law firm will demonstrate measures taken that has led to women being advanced in the legal profession by action taken to remove the gender wage gap, targets for partnership and advancement in managerial and senior roles, sharing of care arrangements, adoption and reporting on Equitable Briefing Policy and a framework for dealing with systematic sex discrimination and sexual harassment in a manner that alleviates the burden on individuals making complaints and places positive obligations on all employees to change the culture and encourage compliance; observance of the Charter for the Advancement of Women in the Legal Profession, and mentoring.

Firms interested in nominating for this award are not required to be current Corporate Members of WLANSW but must have offices situated in NSW and employ staff who are, or are eligible to be, members of WLANSW.

A formal application outlining and capturing why the Law Firm should be selected for this Award should occupy no more than 5 pages. It may be accompanied by additional supporting material as noted in the Application Process.

Change Champion of the Year

Open to all women lawyers who have demonstrated advancing women in the profession and gender equality.

Woman Lawyer of the Year

Open to all current members of WLANSW (‘member’ includes individual members and staff of Corporate Members). Nominees will have made an outstanding contribution to the legal profession, provided leadership and demonstrated supporting and advancing women in the legal profession.

Barrister of the Year

Nominees will be women that hold a current practicing certificate issued by the NSW Bar Association and may be Senior or Junior Counsel.

Private Practice Lawyer of the Year

Nominees will be women holding a current practising certificate and be working in a private law firm.

Corporate Counsel of the Year

Nominees will be women working for non-government corporate entities or organisations

Government Lawyer of the Year

Nominees will be women working either in government organisation or statutory bodies.

Community Lawyer of the Year

Nominees will be women lawyers working in community or not-for-profit organisations.

Regional Lawyer of the Year

Nominees will be women lawyers practicing outside the Sydney Metropolitan Area at the time of the nomination, as a sole practitioner or in a private law firm.

Legal Academic of the Year

Nominees will be women lawyers working in the legal academic field or legal academic organisations or entities.

Rising Star of the Year

Nominees will be women lawyers with less than five years in practice.

Mentor of the Year

Open to all men and women lawyers who have demonstrated mentorship, advocacy and sponsorship of female talent that is invaluable to the development, promotion and retention of talent in the profession.


The recipients of Awards will be announced at a Gala Presentation Dinner to be held on Friday 23rd August, 2019 at Dockside Cockle Bay, Darling Harbour, Sydney. Our Guest Speaker, Emeritus Professor Rosalind Croucher AM, President of the Australian Human Rights Commission



We wish to thank and acknowledge the support of:

The Law Society of NSWacc-australia_101high
AGJ_NSWGOV RGBaustralianworkplacegender