Committee 2008

Lee-May Saw

WLA NSW President 

Lee-May Saw

Lee-May is the solicitor in charge of the family law division of Meehan Legal, a firm based in South West Sydney at Narellan. Prior to moving into private practice, Lee-May worked at community legal centres including Women’s Legal Services New South Wales and the Intellectual Disability Rights Service. She is a member of the Lawyers  Reform Association committee, and the Young Lawyers Family Law Committee. Lee-May is interested in various areas of practice outside of the family law, including criminal law, advocacy, and arts and media law. In her second year as President of WLA NSW, Lee-May would like to see WLA NSW develop itself as:

an organisation of lawyers from across the profession working together in the interests of women in the profession;
an organisation that acts with an awareness of the issues faced by its membership

Pauline Wright

Vice President

Pauline was admitted in 1985 and is currently in private practice with P J Donnellan & Co in Gosford. She is a Councillor of the Law Society of NSW, serving her third term and is presently chair of the Law Society’s Criminal Law and Environmental Planning and Development Law committees and is a past chair of the Human Rights, Gender & Industrial Issues Taskforce and On-Line Services committees. She has served on the Professional Standards committee since1996 and also served on the NSW Young Lawyers Executive Council, Business Law and Children’s Legal Issues committees. Pauline has a keen interest in criminal and social justice and civil liberties issues and has been Vice President of the NSW Council for Civil Liberties since 1996. She also sits on the Board of Governors of the Law and Justice Foundation.

Rebecca Connolly


Rebecca is a solicitor at Sparke Helmore Lawyers and specialises in environmental and planning law. She also enjoys undertaking research and has completed her LLM writing a thesis on agricultural biotechnology law. Rebecca is also a committee member of the NSW Young Lawyers Environmental Law Committee and has been involved in raising awareness about environmental policy issues. Rebecca has a keen interest in the issues faced by young lawyers and hopes to promote these issues through the Women Lawyers’ Association.

Georgina Gowland


After obtaining degrees in law and economics, Georgina was admitted in New Zealand in 1993. In 1998 she was admitted in Hong Kong where she spent four years as a senior solicitor in the litigation department at Herbert Smith. Georgina has a strong interest in workplace relations and in 2005 was Chair of the Human Resources Committee of the Australia New Zealand Chamber of Commerce in Japan. Georgina was also on the Executive Committee of the Foreign Women Lawyers’ Association in Tokyo. Having moved to Sydney in 2006, Georgina is undertaking postgraduate studies in labour law at Sydney University. With three young children, Georgina is particularly interested in work-life balance issues and promoting balanced hours arrangements in law firms.


Mary Snell


Mary Snell

Mary has been a member of NSWWLA since 2005. In September 2007, Mary relocated from the mid north coast town of Port Macquarie to Sydney. In November 2007, Mary was elected Treasurer. Mary is a current councillor of the Law Society of NSW and is a Past President of both NSW Young Lawyers (2004) and the Mid North Coast Regional Law Society (2003-2005). Mary is a member of the joint committee and chair of a subcommittee of the Professional Conduct Committee of the Law Society of NSW. She is also a member of the Environmental Planning and Development, Finance, and Property Law Committees of the Law Society of NSW and a board member of PILCH. After 10 years in private practice, Mary has recently commenced a new role as a solicitor in the City Prosecutor’s Office at the City of Sydney Council.

Rebecca Barry

Functions Officer

Rebecca Barry

Rebecca practices as a Solicitor at TressCox Lawyers in the area of Corporate and Commercial Law. Rebecca’s clients are publicly listed and private companies (small to medium), financial service providers, insurers, trusts, associations and colleges. Rebecca is particularly interested in women’s history and completed her thesis “Stepping Stones: the Role the Women’s College Played in the Professions at the Turn of the Century-” as part of her honours degree in history at the University of Sydney. Rebecca is also on the Business Law Committee and the Social Committee of NSW Young Lawyers.

Bronwyn Carr

Fundraising & Sponsorship Officer

I was admitted in 1996 and am currently a Senior Associate with Dibbs Abbott Stillman, specialising in the areas of insolvency, Corporations Law, banking advice and litigation. I was previously a Senior Associate with Henry Davis York and, prior to that, a solicitor with Kemp Strang. I am a member of the NSW Law Society, Insolvency Practitioners Association of Australia and IWIRC (International Women’s Insolvency and Restructuring Confederation). I was a committee member on the NSW Young Lawyers Business Law Committee for several years but was then distracted with post-graduate study for several years, completing an Advanced Insolvency and Practice Certification and a Master of Laws (Sydney).

Kian Safaei

Professional Issues Officer & NSW Young Lawyers Representative

Alyson Eather

Media Officer

Tania Evers

Policy Officer

Tania is a barrister specialising in crime, especially mental health/intellectual disability and crime. She is the Vice President of Lawyers Reform Association, a committee member of Glebe House, the Intellectual Disability Rights Service, Defence Lawyers Association and International Commission of Jurists, a sub-committee member of the Ethics Committee of the Law Society on Client Capacity, and various other committees. She has three adult children; a lawyer at Legal Aid, an elite athlete who is also studying physiotherapy, and the other works with adolescent girls for DOCS.

Sarah Nam

Education Officer


Tina Ng

Research Officer


Janet Coombs


Janet Coombs

Janet came to the Bar in 1959 and practised for 38 years. Joining WLANSW as a law student, Janet has maintained an active interest, serving on various committees, and is a Life Member. She has a continuing and proactive interest in Law Reform. Janet is the WLANSW representative on the National Council of Women of NSW committee.

Leah Sewell



Kathryn McKenzie

Executive Officer

Kathryn McKenzie

Kathryn has extensive experience in administration, association and event management. She has worked with small business to large corporates, non-profit organisations and many committees. With senior management experience in a diversity of business sectors, successfully organising numerous events, sponsorships, government and media liaison, she has qualifications in business management and counselling, franchising, mediation, journalism and public relations. Kathryn is also the Public Officer for WLANSW.

Kathryn McKenzie, Principal of Business Angel Services Pty. Ltd., officially took over the responsibility as at 12 August 2003. In welcoming Kathryn, WLANSW would like to thank Anne Stewart and her team at Creative Conferences for their assistance and support as our Executive Officer over the previous five years.